Andrew Johnson Heritage Association Announces Scholarship Award

​The Andrew Johnson Heritage Association, the Official Friends Group of the Andrew Johnson National Historic Site, has announced the awarding of its first Andrew Johnson Scholarship. 

​Hanna Taylor, a senior at South Greene High School, received the award of $1,000 for her scholarly paper entitled, “Andrew Johnson: A Piece of History.” The award was presented at the South Greene Academic Awards Day on May 14 by George Collins, president of the Association.

​The paper was evaluated by a panel of judges from the National Park Service, Walters State, and experienced educators. John Wagner, faculty sponsor for Miss Taylor, is the South Greene history teacher. 

​The Scholarship Award program is chaired by Dr. Don Sexton, a member of the Board of Directors of the Association. Information on the program can be obtained from him by calling 423-639-4725 or e-mail to  The Scholarship Program is open to all senior high school students in Greene County and college students.

​The Association was founded in 1982 and is a non-profit organization dedicated to sharing the history of Andrew Johnson and promoting public history education programs for students and the community.

(Photo Included) George Collins, president of the Andrew Johnson Heritage Association; Hanna Taylor, scholarship award winner; and John Wagner, South Greene history teacher.